Writing about writing

I have often heard that a silent person is either apathetic or ignorant.  So many people get in trouble for the words they choose, yet no one gives any credit to the silent observer.  I have this crazy thought that the less you speak, the less likely you are to offend someone.  Eventually, I know this type of approach will probably bring me to a boiling point but so far, so good.

Creative writing has always been my refuge.  When I was eight, I wrote a “book” (stapled notebook pages with crayon illustrations) for my third grade teacher.  It had some ridiculously cliche title like “Around the World in 100 Days.”  I remember it was about 10 pages, front and back, which for an 8-year-old is A LOT of writing.  (Plus, it was college-ruled!)  I have been writing stories ever since, but to this day they fill the pages of spiral-bound notebooks that sit in a stack, coated with dust, at an undisclosed location.  I would be mortified if anyone ever read them.  Nonetheless, I actually find writing to be a lot safer than speaking: you can revise, edit, and pour your heart out without consequence.  If you are never satisfied with the results, like me, you might edit an e-mail ten times to make sure you are saying exactly what you mean to say before putting it out into the universe.

Of course, the written word comes with its own set of problems.  For one thing, it is open to interpretation and harsh criticism.  Sarcasm and humor don’t always translate.  Then you have to think, once it is published (either electronically or on paper), the words can never be taken back.  In this age of screenshots and forwarding, you can’t exactly claim “hearsay!”  Such are the fears I have about writing for an anonymous audience.  Still, the longer I wait to get back to creative writing, the more these musings clutter my brain.  They form plaques.  They need a way out.

It is my goal not to offend anyone.  I simply want to share my experiences as an immigrant, becoming acculturated, and bridging the gap between the First and Second generations because, after all, these narratives have made me who I am today.  By sharing, I honor the people who have brought me thus far.  If this sort of thing interests you, welcome!

2 thoughts on “Writing about writing”

Leave a Reply

