Weekly Photo Challenge: Habit

When you work with data or any type of surveillance, if you do your job correctly, you follow a routine.  I do the same things on certain days of the week; I have set routes to survey, the same sites to visit.  I have almost fallen asleep (don’t tell my boss) driving these routes, day after day.  The main source of unpredictability, when dealing with insects (as I do), is the weather.  Thus, Nature is what lends variety to my daily routine; it is why I love my job.  If you are not careful, simply going through your daily motions, ending up at Point B without any recollection of how you got there, Nature occasionally throws a cottonmouth in your path.

Tuesdays and Wednesdays find me in hardwood swamps, a murky and mysterious landscape.  Full of hidden dangers.

On this day, coming out of the swamp, this was awaiting me on the asphalt of a seldom-traveled road.

Yes, her mouth was wide open.  I was lucky she decided not to strike.
Always watch your step.

5 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Habit”

    1. Mosquito-borne disease surveillance… Other hazards I’ve run into: alligators, wild boars, mudslides, black widows, swarms of mosquitoes that could suffocate a person. Not boasting, merely expressing how this job keeps me on my toes! I think my nerves are starting to break down haha.

Leave a Reply

