3 crunchy things for an awesome Sunday

20140119-211742.jpg

1. Sunday yoga despite no rest day.

2. Homemade yoga mat wash.

3. Guilt-free banana “ice cream.”

2013 was the year I embraced yoga, as a way to de-stress and also bond with my friend M.  Both of us have crazy schedules – it was the one form of fitness on which we can agree, and also the one day a week we are guaranteed some girl time.

Through yoga, I find balance to the specific mental and physical demands of Muay Thai.  I don’t know if I’m getting older or what, but my body needs a lot more stretching time than it used to.  This week, I trained 5 days and went to Baptiste yoga twice.  If you’re not familiar with that style of yoga, it can be pretty intense. Basically, I had no rest day this week.  I walked out of that studio feeling like a super mellow badass.

All shall tremble at my ujjayi breath!  Namaste, bitches!

Ahem.  So a topic that came up after yoga was how to wash your mat without exposing yourself to chemicals.  Most commercial mat washes are organic, I’m fairly certain.  The one sold at the yoga studio would set me back $10.  Since I was already feeling empowered and awesome (and perpetually frugal), M and I aspired to make our own formula.  This one is from The Elephant Journal, but I modified it according to what I already had in the house:

witch hazel, tea tree oil, water.

I also had a spray bottle I use for misting plants, so this entire project cost $0.

I was on a crunchy cosmic wave.  So I kept riding it.

I came home from the grocery store later with a bunch of bananas and discovered 2 overripe bananas from last week.  Because I hate waste – and hate brown bananas even more – I decided to make a simple, healthy ice cream recipe.

You will need: bananas, skim milk, peanut butter.  That’s it.

Slice bananas and lay them out on a baking sheet.  Freeze thoroughly.  In a food processor, combine frozen bananas with just enough milk to cover them.  Add a tablespoon of PB.  Blend well. If the mixture is too thick, add a little more milk.  Optional: cinnamon, vanilla, cocoa powder, nuts.  Endless possibilities!  The frozen bananas undergo some miraculous metamorphosis that gives them the consistency of ice cream.

I rather like this crunchier version of me.  (I recently learned what the slang word “crunchy” means and I’m using it excessively.) But the bathroom needs cleaning and I haven’t found a natural Scrubbing Bubbles that gets the job done.

2 thoughts on “3 crunchy things for an awesome Sunday”

    1. I use a vinegar solution to scrub the shower, while I’m showering. It saves time. Thanks, Pinterest!

      I’ve used tea tree oil for all kinds of ailments. It’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

