Ode to Sandwiches

The only thing I love more than noodles are sandwiches.

Lots of people love sandwiches.  I know one or two, however, who don’t.  What’s wrong with these people?

DP knows when he asks me what I want to eat for lunch, the response can only be one of two things: noodles or sandwiches.  Usually I announce my craving with an overzealous “SANDWICHESSSS!!!” and a simultaneous fist pump.  I don’t know why I asked, he says.

(This is an ode to sandwiches so you must forgive an overuse of the word sandwiches.)

There is no such thing as becoming bored with eating sandwiches. Sure, you can have a “boring sandwich” – people with empty refrigerators and empty imaginations eat boring sandwiches.

But you know as well as I do that the possibilities are endless.  What are some good things to put on a sandwich?  How about:

– tomatoes and mayonnaise with a dash of salt and pepper
– a variety of cheeses and spicy mustard
– avocado slices
– red onion
– fried egg
– a smudge of pesto basil
– apples, colby jack, and honey
– marinated, grilled tofu
– roasted red peppers and sundried tomatoes
– egg-and-cheese-on-bagels
– peanut butter, Nutella, bananas
– etc., etc.

That’s not including all the meaty options.

And of course, you should know that the most important part of a sandwich is the bread.  Bread choice can make or break your picnic delight.  It can turn an average turkey club into a gourmet masterpiece.  Crust should be firm; insides must be fluffy, slightly chewy, and moist.

You can joke all you want about the counter-feminist idea of women making sandwiches.  You might get a punch in the nose but certainly not a sandwich from me.

Last night we ate this sandwich for dinner:


Moroccan olive loaf
Pesto spread
Colby jack cheese
Roasted red peppers
Mushrooms
Red onions
Avocado
Tomatoes
Grilled chicken

I served it with oyster stew.  That orange sheen you see is from the excessive hot sauce I dumped in.  Love it.  Personally, just the stew with a few croutons or saltines would satisfy me but DP would be hungry again in 20 minutes.

Another great thing about sandwiches is that they exist in so many cultures.  But not Lao culture.  Laos does not have native sandwiches (what??).  They do have imported sandwiches from France via Vietnam.  In all fairness, sandwiches in most parts of the world were once adopted from other cultures.

Burritos (yes!), burgers, hoagies, muffalettas, gyros, kebabs, and all the items on this very interesting list bring a smile to my face.  It makes me feel that we are all connected by a common love of sandwiches.

7 thoughts on “Ode to Sandwiches”

      1. I remember hearing about that blog a while ago but haven’t thought about it until now! Thanks for reminding me – I love that concept and I’m going to check it out.

Leave a Reply

