What we saw when we got there


There is a happy ending to the “we rolled down the mountain” story, in case you were wondering.  On the third attempt, we made it to the top of Doi Suthep.  

We took a songtaew this time because, well, it was the only mode of transportation we hadn’t tried yet.  Picture an average-sized truck with a roof over the bed and two benches on either side: songtaew literally means “two rows.”  DP and I normally have an aversion to anything resembling a taxi (whether it stems from our New York experiences or the fear of being ripped off by Thai drivers, I’m not clear).  But I think, considering our track record for this particular route, the exception was warranted.

The songtaew stopped to let us out at a few points of interest along the way.

Once we reached the top, the view of Chiang Mai far below was breathtaking.

The visit was as much spiritual as it was entertaining.

Unfortunately, I didn’t get a very good photo of the famous Golden Stupa, as they were in the midst of renovations.

I don’t think it would be right to go all the way to Chiang Mai without seeing Wat Pra That, so I’m glad we finally made it there.  Who knows – maybe next time, we will take mountain bikes!

 

7 thoughts on “What we saw when we got there”

  1. Girl, you’re making me wanna travel. I love traveling, but your pics are making me want to see these awesome sights with my own eyes–because pictures never turn out as good as the real thing.

    1. Indeed…I am getting the wanderlust myself lately. Photos are nice, but the memory of those experiences is something that can never be shared adequately.

Leave a Reply

