The Brainy Ladies’ Club

I’m late for Fiesta Friday because I indulged at a long overdue ladies’ night with two fabulous gals I met in graduate school.  I don’t consider myself an adult on most days, and people often mistake me for a teenager.  Blah, being an adult is overrated anyway.  Except, of course, when you get to have stimulating conversations and drink wine!

What could be better than eating delicious snacks and drinking wine on a Friday night with great company?  I ate a considerable amount of chocolate cupcakes and chickpea salad that my friend H– made.  I’m not kidding you when I say this salad is insanely addictive.  She says she can’t take credit because the recipe came from Pinterest, but I’m giving her credit anyway for assembling the ingredients and allowing me to fill my belly.

Our only regret was that we started the party at 8pm and by 10:00 we were wiped out.  There’s that age creeping up on us.  Duly noted: earlier start next time will allow many more hours of wine drinking.

The photo below will take you to the crack of all bean recipes, and the wonderful food blog where it was posted:

Wasn’t that nice of H– to share this recipe with us?  I don’t know about you but this will be a staple in my house.

I went home with extra cupcakes and ate them today, slightly altered with fresh raspberries.  They were already delicious without the berries.

And now for a song:

Well, she’s always on the go
she’s the kind who always knows and cooks good dinners.
Well, she’ll put you in your place
She’s got style, she’s got brains, she’s a winner.
She’s a lady! Whoa whoa whoa, she’s a lady!
Talking about that brainy lady…

(Between you and me, I never liked the original lyrics to that song anyway!)  Hope everyone had a fantastic weekend!

Fiesta Friday Badge Button I party @

20 thoughts on “The Brainy Ladies’ Club”

  1. That salad looks so delicious! And is there ever such a thing as too many cupcakes? 🙂

    Sounds like you had a wonderful night out. Good for you! Thanks so much for sharing that recipe with all of us! 🙂

    1. Definitely no such thing as too many cupcakes. Especially ones that are as light and fluffy as these – tastes like you are eating chocolate clouds smeared with coffee silk. I could probably shove 2 or 3 in my mouth before someone stops me. 🙂

  2. First, I went to google the original lyrics ‘coz I wasn’t sure since yours sound just about right. Well! I definitely prefer your version! So nice to sit down to a meal with a couple of good friends, isn’t it? A little food, a little chat, maybe a lot of wine, everybody always gets along. 🙂

    1. Wait until you hear my rendition of Eleanor Rigby… the whole thing is about mosquitoes. I think my girlfriends and I might start our very own Fiesta Friday with recipe sharing (and wine drinking). Wouldn’t that be nice?

      1. That would be very nice! Recipe sharing and wine drinking are my two most favorite activities, along with food sampling, of course. Can’t drink wine on an empty stomach.

        Can’t imagine how you’re going to tie mosquitoes with Eleanor Rigby, but I’m open-minded. 🙂

  3. Noony, I absolutely agree with you- what can be more delightful than a girls’ get together on a friday night? The salad looks delicious – straight up my alley – always have black beans and avocados in my salad – will try this one with chickpeas and feta cheese!

    1. That combination of ingredients – beans and avocado – just seems so satisfying and wholesome, doesn’t it? Organic chickpeas are on sale this week and I am going to make a huge batch of this salad!

  4. Noony, I’ve never eaten chickpeas, are they like processed mushy peas or like a baked bean? Do you boil them and let them go cold? I’ll have to look out for them, you watch I’ll see them everywhere now lol.

    1. They usually come canned, as whole beans. They’re also called garbanzo beans and area loaded with nutrients. If you have ever eaten hummus, you’ve eaten them. I used to put them on top of my salads but then I discovered they are good as the main part of the salad too!

Leave a Reply

