KALE! I love you so, I always will…

[to the tune of “Wedding Bell Blues” by The 5th Dimension]

Noonie and I first heard this song watching that childhood classic, My Girl.  Every once in a while, we would randomly burst out singing the first line.  Oh, Vada.

I don’t know when my infatuation with kale began.  I love the color, texture, and wholesome feeling I get from eating it.  I have this image of myself as a sea turtle, slowly gulping down massive amounts of kelp/kale as I’m swimming along…

My imagination is still 8 years old.

One thing that has matured is my appetite, if you want to call this “mature.”  Maybe “evolved” is a better word.  A year ago, if you had offered me pasta with beans, I would have made a horrified face and said, “WHOA, that’s like TWO starches in the same dish!”  I’m not scared of doubling up on my starches anymore.  I realized I’ve been missing out!

Mini Farfalle with White Beans & Kale

You will need:

  • 1 lb mini farfalle
  • 1 bunch of kale, torn into medium sized pieces
  • 12 oz can cannellini, Navy, or Great Northern beans
  • 3 cloves garlic, coarsely chopped
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 1 tsp lime zest
  • 1/4 cup scallions, chopped
  • Kosher salt & black pepper, to taste
  • Optional: red chili pepper flakes
  • Grated Parmesan
  • A little olive oil to drizzle

What you do:

1. Cook pasta in lightly salted, boiling water.

2. Saute garlic in a little olive oil.  Toss in kale just until slightly wilted.

3. Add beans, lime juice and zest.  Toss together, then turn off the heat before adding scallions.

4. Strain the pasta, reserving about 1/2 cup of the water.  Toss pasta with reserved water,  salt and pepper to taste.

5. Drizzle with olive oil and serve with a sprinkling of Parmesan.

Simple, right?

I glanced at this recipe on Pinterest once but then just winged it, so you can definitely tweak it however you like.

I am traveling today and could not muster up the creative energy to come up with a red, white, and blue dish for Fiesta Friday/Independence Day.  It may not seem very festive, but you’ll just have to trust me when I say that I was contemplating what it means to be a [naturalized] American citizen while cooking it.

…Like how I can buy all of the kale at the grocery store if I wanted and no one would stop me.

…Or the fact that there is even lots of kale to buy.

…And that I can blog about it without being censored.

It doesn’t seem like much, but I’m not going to take it for granted.

Thank you, grocery store.  Thank you, kale farmers.  Thank you, Freedom.

Fiesta Friday Badge Button I party @

22 thoughts on “KALE! I love you so, I always will…”

  1. At first I thought you wrote that you started eating kale when you were 8, and I thought “Wow, that was long before it became so popular.” Sometimes I think about how cool it would be to live in Australia or New Zealand because they have amazing GF laws to support those of us with celiac disease. BUT, you’re right, it’s awesome how I can buy products in the grocery store without anyone stopping me, and blog to my heart’s content. What a great perspective! Happy Fourth of July!! 🇺🇸

    1. I never noticed kale in the produce section until a couple years ago. Which is weird considering I mostly eat veggies. That’s really interesting about the GF laws. I had no idea!

  2. Oh, good you’re back again! Thanks for the great kale recipe . . . Yum!!! I just can’t take it raw! I am forever seeing photos of recipes and then “winging it,” too!

    1. Why, thanks for the welcome! I do have a recipe for a raw kale salad. I love it. The trick is to get the vinaigrette to break down the kale.

  3. Oh Noony, you are just too funny! Now the next time I cook kale, I will not be able to stop singing that song! I am with you on the kale thing! We eat tons of it and it looks completely Delish in your pasta dish! Thanks for making me laugh tonight! 😀

    1. I’ve eaten kale lots of ways but still haven’t had it in one of those smoothies, have you? That seems to be the trend these days.

      1. No, I’ve not tried them. There’s something about green smoothies that just don’t sound right to me, even if I like all the things in them!

  4. Oh, how good for you that you love kale! It can be an acquainted taste – but me personally, I totally endorse kale, one of the most powerful “Superfoods” there is!! 😉 Very nice recipe, thanks so much for bringing this to the Fiesta – hope you had lots of fun! Sylvia

  5. hi Noony you are so funny! Loved reading your post as always. I like Kale too since it’s so healthy for you. I am funny that way but I just start liking foods that I realize are healthy for you. I guess the taste does not really matter – for a lot of the foods it depends on how you eat them – Here your idea with the pasta looks great! And you are right we have to be grateful for our freedom 🙂

    1. I feel fortunate that I have always liked to eat healthy things – they just taste good to me! Sure, they make me feel good too, but I see that as more of a bonus. 🙂

Leave a Reply

