The [cooking] week in review

Mom and Pa Boun gave me lots of tomatoes and several Rosa Bianca eggplants when I visited the Shire last weekend, so many of our meals this past week involved those ingredients.  I discovered that Rosa Biancas make my hands ITCH, but I will not hold that against them.  They are still tasty in all their vegetable meatiness.  

I haven’t felt very culinarily creative since life started becoming more demanding than usual.  But I guess when you have quality, fresh ingredients, you can’t let them go to waste.

The first thing I made was a pasta topper.  I just threw the eggplants and tomatoes into a pan and this happened:

Meal #2 required lining baking dishes with thin slices of Russet potatoes and filling it with a concoction of Rosa Biancas, assorted vegetables, and cheese.  They didn’t come out of the dish as nicely as I hoped but here they are, inverted:

Finally, I used some mint from the yard and limes to jazz up your standard sugar cookie recipe with a cool mint lime icing:

Enjoy, Fiesta Friday goers!

 

Fiesta Friday Badge Button I party @

18 thoughts on “The [cooking] week in review”

  1. Do all eggplants make your hands itch, or just Rosa Bianca? Maybe you can wear surgical gloves? 🙂 Everything looks yummy. The potato timbale looks interesting and gives me an idea what to do with my eggplants. Thanks, Noony! XOXO

    1. I never had a problem until I handled these! It was surprising. I didn’t know what to call the potato thing, so thanks for that. lol I could’ve done it much better, had I known what I was doing. You’ll have to let me know what you come up with, of course. 🙂

  2. Nice basket of good looking veg you were gifted Noony. Are you allergic to just the hairy stem of the eggplant or the whole eggplant? Such a plump, delicious looking thing. What a shame it’s got some attitude. Love the look of your tasty creations! Mmmmmmmmmmmmm! 😀

    1. I’ve never had a problem with the stems of any other type of eggplant. I noticed it right away when I was slicing, and then when I rinsed in a bowl of water, the itching got worse! Haha, plump and has attitude…describes some people I know. 🙂 Thanks!

  3. Hi Noony! Weird that the eggplant makes your hands itch. I have been on an eggplant cooking rampage these last few weeks and my husband finally said, enough, I’m not to make eggplant dishes anymore this season. But your pasta dish just gave me an idea for another eggplant meal, so he might have to tough out another week. 🙂 Hope you’re well, and that potato dish looks good to me!

    1. My significant other also says I use eggplant way too often! I just love it though. Can’t wait to see what you come up with, and if husband doesn’t want it, send it to me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

