FF #38: Whip it, whip it good

Let’s face it: there is not much in life that is better than freshly whipped cream.  

I hear there are these newfangled kitchen devices that instantly whip your cream for you in a matter of seconds.  But I’m old school and would much rather stand there with an electric hand mixer.  Once, in my adolescence as a self-taught chef, I didn’t have an electric mixer and so set about the task with an ordinary wire whisk.  You will burn a lot of calories and perhaps develop carpal tunnel, but it can be done.

Baking is one of those culinary ventures that I had to explore on my own, unlike other things my mom taught me to cook. So far I’ve got cornbread and standard wheat bread down pat. I think I’ve made a cake or two from scratch and some cookies.  Lao folks don’t bake. No one even owns an oven over there.

For DP’s birthday this week, I decided to revisit my love of freshly whipped cream and summoned up an old favorite. It is absurdly simple and can be semi-homemade if you don’t have the time (like me).  This time, I changed up the classic recipe with a secret ingredient: coconut milk.

Fluffy Raspberry Filled Cupcakes

  • Servings: 12-16
  • Time: 1 hr
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

For the cupcakes, I used a box of white cake mix.  Of course, if you have plenty of time, feel free to use your own cake recipe.  Don’t skimp on mixing the batter for at least 2 minutes on medium speed so that you get a really airy cupcake.

For the filling:

  • 1 pint heavy whipping cream
  • 2 tablespoons confectioner’s sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk
  • 1 cup fresh raspberries

Cool the cupcakes completely once they’re out of the oven.  Chill a mixing bowl in the freezer.  In the bowl, add cream, confectioner’s sugar, vanilla, and coconut milk.  Whip on high until peaks form.  Next mash half the raspberries and fold into the whipped cream.

To serve, cut the tops off the cupcakes.  Place a heaping tablespoon (or more if you’re feeling brave) onto the base and replace the top.  Garnish with whole berries and sifted confectioner’s sugar. Dinosaur candle is optional.  Eat immediately!

If you’re not worried about impressing guests with presentation, you can just dip each bite of cupcake into the whipped mixture, which is what I did after one decent photo.

Happy birthday, DP!

And remember:

When a problem comes along
You must whip it
Before the cream sets out too long
You must whip it
When something’s goin’ wrong
You must whip it

Fiesta Friday Badge Button I party @

8 thoughts on “FF #38: Whip it, whip it good”

  1. You are right about the cream, but i like your addition of coconut milk. Will have to give it a try.
    When I was little we didn’t have an electric mixer, or even a whisk. My mother beat it with a knife, something I couldn’t quite understand, but she did it fairly quickly and effectively and swore by her method.

  2. what a lovely cake for a birthday! 🙂 I love cream but sadly it loves my waistline but every now and then it is such a treat!

Leave a Reply

