Quick pho for the weary

How many times has this happened to you?

You want a bowl of pho.  You don’t want to go out.  There is virtually nothing fresh in your kitchen.

Happens to me on a weekly basis.  So I cheat sometimes (as with Tom Yum Goong), like the lazy Asian that I am.

Here is what I did have: steady supply of rice noodles in the pantry, long beans sent by Mom, onions, garlic, some rotisserie chicken, and this magical ingredient:

from Atlanta Asian Foods

Instant beef flavor.  I don’t know what they put in this stuff, but it’s miraculous.

Add this to boiling water with onions and garlic; season just how you like it with sugar, fish sauce, a little lime juice, and infused chili oil… That’s as close as you’re going to get without time or ingredients to make proper broth.

I also added fried onions and pickled cabbage for extra zing.  Garnish with whatever vegetables are in the refrigerator (in my case, kale, tomatoes, and long beans).  For the meat eater, I shredded up some rotisserie chicken and called it a day.

I hope you are able to figure out the perfect seasoning ratio because I didn’t write down my measurements.  Good luck!

12 thoughts on “Quick pho for the weary”

Leave a comment